about herbiwarrior

Nick Schäferhof - CEO and founder of herbiwarrior

Hi, my name is Nick.

I originally started herbiwarrior as a company for vegan supplements and sports nutrition in 2011 because I was unable to find products on the market that I was satisfied with. Since I believe in being part of the solution and don’t like waiting for the world to change, I decided to start making it myself.

The writing you find on this blog is about cultivating the self. The more I talk to people around me the more I realize that many of them are struggling with the same issues: Eating healthy, working out and living more fulfilled lives. Only they don’t know how.

I can absolutely relate. I have been asking myself the same questions and a while back embarked on a quest to answer them for myself. So I started writing for three reasons:

1) I felt I had something important to say.

2) I want to help people and felt like this would be a good way to do it.

3) I want to connect with like-minded people that I can learn from.

Food/Nutrition: I have been cooking since I was 8 years old (first recipe: hot milk with honey) and been a vegetarian since 2004. I’m absolutely fascinated by the topic of food and nutrition and totally love to geek out on it. I’m constantly thinking about how to eat well and healthy while living an active, plant-based lifestyle.

Fitness/Sports: I absolutely love fitness, sports and general physical activity. Always eager to try out new things I have dabbled in running, swimming, and breakdance among other things. These days I practice Ninjutsu, a Japanese martial art, lift weights and do some kettlebell training. I’m also preparing to dive into barefoot-running.

Personal Development: I believe in constantly working toward understanding ourselves better and striving for continuous improvement. I devour a lot of literature on the topic of personal development and behavioral change and work toward living a happier, more relaxed, more productive life and achieving the goals I set for myself.

The key theme that links these topics together is self-cultivation. I define self-cultivation as the consciously striving for continuous improvment, mentally, physically and in circumstance. This attitude is crystallized in the metaphor of the warrior.

One to three times a week I write on at least one of the above-mentioned topics. This can range from training tips and fitness gear to inspirational pieces, book reviews and recipes. I’m not here to preach and you are not here to be preached on. I want to inspire you and provide practical strategies and tips to take action and make positive changes in your life.

herbiwarrior wouldn’t be what it is without the help of a few good souls.

Meet the team

Name:

Ralf Mischnick

Profession:

Graphic guru

Find him here:

www.ralfmischnick.de

Self-employed graphic designer, friend, mentor and occasional guinea pig. His main job is to make up for my colorblindness. Whenever you think “hey that looks good”, it was probably him. He has also provided me with shelter during bouts of homelessness.

Name:

Felix Schäferhoff

Profession:

Media professional

Find him here:

www.felix-schaeferhoff.de

Cinema 4D magician, css consultant, hip-hop video director and best little brother in the world. I rely on his no-nonsense nature to call me out when my life is getting a little too crazy. Also, he recently got married which we are all very excited about.

Name:

Stephan Walsch

Profession:

Video expert

Find him here:

www.stephan-walsch.de

All credit for video work is due to this incredibly talented and professional video designer from Berlin. He occasionally kicks my ass during ninjutsu practice and is also the person who makes me feel better by comparison whenever I think I might be getting too nerdy.

über herbiwarrior

Nick Schäferhof - CEO and founder of herbiwarrior

Hi, ich heiße Nick.
Ursprünglich habe ich herbiwarrior 2011 als Unternehmen für vegane Sporternährung und Nahrungsergänzungsmittel gestartet, weil ich mit den vorhandenen Produkten nicht zufrieden war. Da ich gerne Teil der Lösung bin und ungern darauf warte, dass sich die Welt von selber ändert, entschied ich mich fürs Selbermachen.

Auf diesem Blog schreibe ich zum Thema Selbstkultivierung. Je mehr ich mich mit anderen unterhalte, desto mehr stelle ich fest, dass viele mit den gleichen Dingen kämpfen: Gesund essen, Sport treiben und ein erfüllteres Leben leben. Jedoch wissen sie nicht wie.

Dieses Gefühl ist mir sehr bekannt. Ich habe mir die gleichen Fragen gestellt und mich vor einer Weile aufgemacht sie für mich zu beantworten. Daher habe ich aus drei Gründen mit dem Schreiben begonnen:

1) Ich hatte das Gefühl, eine wichtige Botschaft teilen zu können.

2) Ich möchte anderen helfen und dachte dies könnte ein guter Weg sein.

3) Ich möchte gleichgesinnte Menschen treffen, von denen ich lernen kann.

Essen/Ernährung: Ich koche seit meinem achten Lebensjahr (erstes Rezept: heiße Milch mit Honig) und bin seit 2004 Vegetarier. Ich bin ein ziemlicher Nerd wenn es um Essen und Ernährung geht und finde das Thema absolut faszinierend. Ich denke ständig darüber nach, wie man sich fleischlos gesund ernähren kann, um ein aktives Leben zu gestalten.

Fitness/Sport: Ich stehe absolut auf Fitness und Sport und habe generell viel Bewegungsdrang. Als chronischer Neubeginner, habe ich mich bereits als Schwimmer, Läufer und Breakdancer probiert. Heute lerne ich Ninjutsu, eine japanische Kampfkunst, hebe Gewichte und mache Kettlebell-Training. Ich plane außerdem, Barfußlaufen eine Chance zu geben.

Persönlichkeitsentwicklung: Eine meiner Überzeugungen ist, das wir ständig darauf hinarbeiten sollten, uns selbst besser zu verstehen und stetig weiterzuentwickeln. Ich lese sehr viel Literatur zum Thema Persönlichkeitsentwicklung und Verhaltensänderung und arbeite kontinuierlich daran, ein zufriedenes, entspanntes und produktives Leben zu leben und selbst gesetzte Ziele zu erreichen.

Der Hauptgedanke, der über diesen Themen steht, ist Selbstkultivierung. Ich definiere Selbstkultivierung als bewusstes Streben nach stetiger Verbesserung, körperlich, mental und in äußeren Umständen. Diese Einstellung kristallisiert sich in der Metapher des Kriegers (Warrior).

Ein- bis dreimal pro Woche schreibe ich über wenigstens eines der oben genannten Themen. Dies reicht von Trainingstipps und -ausrüstung über Inspiration zu Bücherrezensionen und Rezepten. Ich bin nicht hier um zu predigen und ihr nicht hier um Predigen zu hören. Ich möchte praktische Tipps und Strategien liefern und dazu anregen positive Schritte in eurem Leben vorzunehmen.

herbiwarrior wäre nicht was es ist, ohne die Hilfe und Unterstützung einiger guter Seelen.

Triff das Team

Name:
Ralf Mischnick
Profession:
Grafik-Guru
Zu finden unter:
www.ralfmischnick.de

Selbstständiger Grafikdesigner, Freund, Mentor und gelegentliches Versuchsobjekt. Sein Hauptjob ist, meine Farbblindheit aufzuwiegen. Wann immer ihr denkt „Hey, das sieht gut aus“, war es wahrscheinlich sein Verdienst. Er hat mir außerdem während kurzer Phasen der Obdachlosigkeit Unterkunft geboten.

Name:
Felix Schäferhoff
Profession:
Medienprofi
Zu finden unter:
www.felix-schaeferhoff.de

Cinema-4D-Magier, CSS-Berater, angehender Hip-Hop-Videoregisseur und bester kleiner Bruder der Welt. Ich verlasse mich auf seine bodenständige Natur mir mitzuteilen, wenn mein Leben etwas zu verrückt wird. Außerdem hat er vor kurzem geheiratet, weswegen wir alle sehr aufgeregt sind.

Name:
Stephan Walsch
Profession:
Videoexperte
Zu finden unter:
www.stephan-walsch.de

Jedwede Videoarbeit geht auf das Konto dieses unglaublich talentierten und professionellen Mediendesigners aus Berlin. Bei Gelegenheit verprügelt er mich beim Ninjutsu und lässt mich im Vergleich besser dastehen, wenn ich glaube zu sehr zum Nerd zu werden.