• Are you looking to make a difference in your life?

    Us too. Here at herbiwarrior we are all about:

    • Fitness – How to train hard, train right, find the time, and stay fit in our busy modern lives
    • Nutrition – We want to eat well and feel comfortable in our bodies on a plant-based diet
    • Psychology – Ways to get and stay motivated, set goals, change habits, and improve our mindset
    • Learning – We strive for continuous improvement and never stop learning

    Ready to join us?

    Enter your email below and click “get updates” to receive the herbiwarrior newsletter

    Your email address will never be shared. You can opt out at the touch of a button.

On Decisions (II): Why We Fear Making Decisions and How To Get Over It

Avoiding decisions

In the last post I talked about how our decisions determine our lives and how that is a good thing (but mainly why I am living in Turkey now). Yet most people dread making decisions. When faced with a choice, they find themselves paralyzed and unable to decide or procrastinating in order to avoid having to decide. Read More »

Posted in Personal Development | Leave a comment

On Decisions (I): What We Choose Determines Our Lives

Making decisions

This morning when I sit down to write, something is different. I’m surrounded by unfamiliar sounds and smells in a room which isn’t my own, hear pieces of conversations through the window which I don’t understand, and have to fight a cat off my leg that isn’t mine. I smile with the realization that I am not at home. I did it. I moved to another country.

Read More »

Posted in Personal Development | Leave a comment

Faster, Harder, Shorter! – Reach the next training level with HIIT

High Intensity Interval Training

This is a follow-up post to a blog post on HIIT (High-Intensity Interval Training) I recently wrote for my friends at bevegt (direct link here). Since the original was in German and herbiwarrior is a bilingual blog I’m giving a short recap before diving into the details, so you can skip ahead if you read the article over at their page.

Part I – Advantages and method of HIIT

HIIT is a training method that makes it possible to achieve big results with very little input. The principle behind it are short,very intense training sessions, approximately 20 minutes in length. In recent years the method has been studied in detail and proven by sports medicine. Athletes from all disciplines, from weight lifters to runners, can profit from doing HIIT

Read More »

Posted in Health / Fitness | Leave a comment

Rewards or How I Got Myself to Stick to a Schedule with Takeout Food

reward yourself

In the last blog post I talked about boundaries and how I started going to bed and getting up at regular hours. The funny thing is that while looking to solve my insomnia, I had read many times that going to bed at regular hours helps the body understand when it’s supposed to sleep. And of course I ignored this advice as many times as I read it.

Why is it so hard to change? We all know about the things that would improve our lives, so why don’t we just do them? It’s because humans aren’t rational. If all it took to make high-impact life changes were a rational decision, we could just explain to everyone the consequences of unhealthy behavior (which governments have tried for years) and wipe out chronic disease by tomorrow. Read More »

Posted in Health / Fitness, Personal Development | Leave a comment

Boundaries or Why I Have a Bed Time Again

mental boundaries

For the past two years I have been working on herbiwarrior as my first entrepreneurial project (as you probably know since you are reading this). It has been a lot of fun and very rewarding. I can’t remember ever learning as much in such a short amount of time as I have in the two years of working on this project.

However, during that time there were several moments in which I was ready to give up. Why? Because I was stressed out of my mind. It turns out that being an entrepreneur also has many downsides such as lack of a steady paycheck, the need to organize everything yourself, or your family being worried about “what the boy is up to now”.

For me personally it is also the lack of a scheduled workday. Ironically, I miss the 9 to 5. These past two years I have kind of been making it all up as I went along. I got up and went to bed at unsteady times, my schedule was constantly changing, and overall my life was characterized by an absolute absence of routine. Read More »

Posted in Health / Fitness, Personal Development | Leave a comment

• Willst Du etwas in Deinem Leben verändern?

    Wir auch. Hier auf herbiwarrior geht es für uns um:

    • Fitness – Intensiv und richtig trainieren, Zeit finden und in unserem vielbeschäftigten modernen Leben fit bleiben
    • Ernährung – Essen auf pflanzlicher Basis für Energie und Wohlfühlen im eigenen Körper
    • Psychologie – Wege motiviert zu sein und zu bleiben, Ziele setzen, Gewohnheiten verändern und die geistige Haltung trainieren
    • Lernen – Streben nach stetiger Verbesserung und niemals aufhören zu lernen und neugierig zu sein

    Möchtest Du Dich uns anschließen?

    Trage Deine Email-Adresse ein und klicke „Updates erhalten“ um sofort von Neuigkeiten auf dem Blog zu hören.

    Deine Email-Adresse wird niemals weitergegeben. Du kannst Dich mit einem Klick austragen.

Über Entscheidungen (II): Warum wir Entscheidungen meiden und was wir dagegen tun können

Avoiding decisions

Im letzten Artikel ging es darum, wie Entscheidungen unser Leben formen und warum das eine gute Sache ist (hauptsächlich aber ging es um den Grund, warum ich jetzt in der Türkei lebe). Trotzdem fürchten sich die meisten Menschen davor, vor einer Wahl zu stehen. Konfrontiert mit verschiedenen Alternativen fühlen sie sich gelähmt und nicht entscheidungsfähig oder schieben ihre Wahl lange vor sich her. Lesen Sie mehr »

In Persönlichkeitsentwicklung veröffentlicht | Kommentieren

Über Entscheidungen (I): Wie unsere Entscheidungen unser Leben bestimmen

Making decisions

Etwas ist anders, als ich mich heute morgen zum Schreiben hinsetze. Ich bin umgeben von ungewohnten Geräuschen und Gerüchen, sitze in einem fremden Zimmer, höre Gesprächsfetzen durchs Fenster, die ich nicht verstehe, und muss eine Katze von meinem Bein fernhalten, die nicht mir gehört. Ich grinse bei der Erkenntnis, dass ich nicht zuhause bin. Ich habe es tatsächlich geschafft. Ich bin in ein anderes Land gezogen.
Lesen Sie mehr »

In Persönlichkeitsentwicklung veröffentlicht | Kommentieren

Faster, Harder, Shorter! – Mit HIIT das nächste Trainingslevel erreichen

High Intensity Interval Training

Dies ist ein Folgeartikel zu einem Blogpost über HIIT (Hochintensitäts- intervalltraining), den ich vor kurzem für meine Freunde von bevegt geschrieben habe (direkter Link hier). Da das Original auf Deutsch war und herbiwarrior ein zweisprachiger Blog ist, gibt es zuerst eine Zusammenfassung des Prinzips und der Vorteile dieses Trainingsansatzes. Wenn Du also den Originalartikel schon gelesen hast, kannst Du den ersten Teil überspringen.

Teil I – Vorteile und Methode von HIIT

HIIT ist eine Trainingsmethode, die große Erfolge mit wenig Aufwand möglich macht. Das Prinzip dahinter sind kurze, sehr intensive Trainingseinheiten (im Schnitt ca. 20 Minuten). Die Methode ist in den letzten Jahren von der Sportmedizin immer stärker untersucht und bestätigt worden. Sportler aller Couleur, von Gewichthebern bis zu Läufern, können von HIIT profitieren. Lesen Sie mehr »

In Gesundheit / Fitness veröffentlicht | Kommentieren

Belohnungen oder Produktiver durch Essen zum Mitnehmen

reward yourself

Im letzten Artikel ging es um Grenzen und wie ich wieder angefangen habe, zu einheitlichen Zeiten aufzustehen und ins Bett zu gehen. Auf der Suche nach Lösungen für meine Schlafprobleme hatte ich vorher bereits gelesen, dass regelmäßige Bettzeiten dem Körper signalisieren, wann er zu ruhen hat. Und natürlich habe ich das ebenso oft ignoriert wie gelesen.

Warum ist es so schwer, sich zu ändern? Wir wissen alle um die Dinge, die unser Leben verbessern würden. Warum aber machen wir sie dann nicht einfach? Die Antwort liegt darin, dass Menschen nicht rational handeln. Wenn Lebensumstellungen eine Sache des Verstands wären, könnten wir einfach alle über die Konsequenzen ihres ungesunden Verhalten aufklären und chronische Krankheiten wären morgen ausgerottet. Lesen Sie mehr »

In Gesundheit / Fitness, Persönlichkeitsentwicklung veröffentlicht | Kommentieren

Grenzen ziehen oder Warum ich wieder eine feste Bettzeit habe

mental boundaries

In den letzten beiden Jahren habe ich an meinem ersten Unternehmensprojekt herbiwarrior gearbeitet (wie Du wahrscheinlich weißt, wenn Du das hier liest). Es hat mir viel Spaß gemacht und war sehr erfüllend. Ich kann mich nicht daran erinnern, jemals so viel in so kurzer Zeit gelernt zu haben wie in den zwei Jahren an diesem Projekt.

Allerdings gab es zwischendurch immer wieder Momente, in denen ich aufgeben wollte. Warum? Weil ich unglaublich gestresst war. Es stellt sich heraus, dass Unternehmer sein auch viele Nachteile hat, zum Beispiel der Mangel an einem festem Gehalt, dass man alles selbst organisieren muss oder, dass die Familie sich darum sorgt, „was der Junge jetzt wieder macht“.

Für mich ist es außerdem das Fehlen eines festen Arbeitsrhythmus. Ironischerweise vermisse ich das 9 to 5. In den letzten beiden Jahren habe ich durchgehend improvisiert. Ich bin zu den verschiedensten Zeiten aufgestanden und ins Bett gegangen, mein Terminplan war eine einzige Änderung und in meinem Leben allgemein fehlte es an Routine. Lesen Sie mehr »

In Gesundheit / Fitness, Persönlichkeitsentwicklung veröffentlicht | Kommentieren